Skip to content
Buckinghamshire Counts — Buckinghamshire, in numbers.Local help →

Buckinghamshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Buckinghamshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Buckinghamshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 455,714 in 1991 to 584,296 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Buckinghamshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 468,779 people in 1996; 584,296 people in 2025. 24.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Buckinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991455,714
1992459,993
1993461,915
1994464,078
1995467,904
1996468,779
1997471,148
1998472,078
1999475,883
2000477,186
2001479,131
2002478,768
2003480,164
2004482,126
2005485,526
2006489,348
2007493,501
2008496,371
2009498,813
2010502,820
2011506,550
2012512,105
2013517,918
2014523,613
2015529,999
2016535,519
2017538,762
2018541,983
2019545,859
2020549,066
2021555,161
2022561,173
2023570,039
2024578,432
2025584,296
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Buckinghamshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 98,068 people in 1996; 115,057 people in 2025. 17.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Buckinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199194,725
199296,052
199396,768
199497,364
199598,138
199698,068
199798,420
199898,426
199999,559
200099,911
2001100,093
200299,983
2003100,083
2004100,377
2005100,284
2006100,215
2007100,610
2008100,748
2009101,102
2010101,470
2011102,083
2012103,214
2013104,049
2014104,828
2015106,308
2016107,298
2017107,857
2018108,353
2019108,893
2020109,010
2021109,686
2022111,725
2023113,142
2024114,443
2025115,057
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Buckinghamshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 305,885 people in 1996; 356,029 people in 2025. 16.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Buckinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991300,245
1992302,481
1993302,978
1994303,683
1995305,755
1996305,885
1997307,031
1998307,017
1999308,800
2000308,691
2001309,180
2002308,232
2003308,452
2004309,221
2005311,463
2006314,454
2007316,809
2008317,412
2009317,155
2010318,464
2011319,524
2012320,295
2013322,212
2014324,817
2015328,099
2016330,898
2017332,281
2018333,557
2019335,154
2020337,112
2021341,002
2022343,058
2023348,533
2024353,077
2025356,029
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Buckinghamshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 64,826 people in 1996; 113,210 people in 2025. 74.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Buckinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199160,744
199261,460
199362,169
199463,031
199564,011
199664,826
199765,697
199866,635
199967,524
200068,584
200169,858
200270,553
200371,629
200472,528
200573,779
200674,679
200776,082
200878,211
200980,556
201082,886
201184,943
201288,596
201391,657
201493,968
201595,592
201697,323
201798,624
2018100,073
2019101,812
2020102,944
2021104,473
2022106,390
2023108,364
2024110,912
2025113,210
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 553,078 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Buckinghamshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh68,31812.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African14,2692.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups19,5703.5%
White442,16479.9%
Other ethnic group8,7571.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 31.4% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Buckinghamshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £14,562 per person in 1997; £34,111 per person in 2024. 134.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Buckinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199714,562
199814,864
199915,441
200016,251
200116,981
200217,206
200317,341
200418,118
200518,766
200620,086
200721,003
200821,455
200921,905
201021,795
201121,877
201222,379
201323,117
201423,897
201525,502
201626,123
201726,709
201827,332
201928,258
202027,493
202128,936
202230,493
202332,410
202434,111
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Buckinghamshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 37.2% in 1997; 31.4% in 2024. 5.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Buckinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199737.2
199837.3
199936.5
200036.5
200137.3
200236
200333
200433.5
200533.5
200637.2
200736.9
200836.2
200936.8
201034.9
201134.3
201232.5
201332
201432.2
201534
201635.7
201735.6
201833.9
201934.1
202031
202132.5
202232.8
202332.6
202431.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61.6%

21 March 2021 · Buckinghamshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

11.8%

21 March 2021 · Buckinghamshire council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.8%

21 March 2021 · Buckinghamshire council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.3%

21 March 2021 · Buckinghamshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£480,000

July 2026 · Buckinghamshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,475

August 2026 · Buckinghamshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2001 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.